Dorm Room Magick: Mojo/Spell bags

Mojo or Spell bags are a simple, dorm safe way to keep in touch with your magickal practice while at school.  They’re potent little charms that can be used for a variety of things.  There’s numerous names for them, depending on your path.  “Mojo bags” is used primarily to describe ones made in the Voodoo practice, I think “spell bags” is a more common term.

A mojo bag I made a friend for protection.

A spell bag I made a friend for protection.

My friend felt she needed a little protection from a spirit that has apparently taken up residence in her suite.  In this spell bag I sprinkled three protective herbs, sea salt, rosemary, and patchouli, as well as one of my handmade runes, and a piece of paper with her name on it.

There’s a number of different ways to make these, or you can even buy them.  Over the summer I bought a witch’s bottle while in Salem.  It comes with everything you need, including instructions.  I liked the way they suggested to do the bottle, so I used a similar method to make my friend’s spell bag.  I gathered the symbols of protection, placed them in the only little baggie I had, and while thinking about her, wrote her name down on the scrap of paper, dropped it in and thought a little prayer of protection for her.

Have you made a spell/mojo bag?  What’s your favourite method?

Leave a Reply

